Money can be exchanged for goods and services–in real stores, opened by e-commerce monoliths

Homer: Aw, twenty dollars? I wanted a peanut!
Homer’s Brain: Twenty dollars can buy many peanuts.
Homer: Explain how!
Homer’s Brain: Money can be exchanged for goods and services.

“Boy Scoutz ‘n The Hood,” The Simpsons, 1993

amazon-store
This is a real-life bookstore, opened by a huge e-commerce purveyor of books and millions of other things that, as an aside, put many real-life bookstores out of business

As I am working on a pitch for a client in the retail technology space, I was reminded both of the above Simpsons quote (author’s note: 80 percent of the contents of my brain is comprised roughly of Simpsons’ quotes and/or Larry Bird highlights …) and a recent exchange I had walking past a sign announcing the impending opening of an Amazon “bricks-and-mortar” store at the Dedham retail experience (or whatever the hell it’s called).

I was standing next to a father and son (presumably); the soon looked to be in his early 20s. I had just remarked to my wife that I didn’t particularly understand the need for an Amazon store IRL (note to forty-somethings: that means “in real life”) given they had essentially put all but the stalwart, independent bookstores (backed by equally stalwart supporters) out of business. I remarked to the older gentleman my similar concerns/confusions, and his son piped in:

Son: We have one of these Amazon stores on campus at my school. They’re actually pretty useful to get what you need when you don’t want to wait for shipping. You can see it and get it right then.

Me: (Nodding politely) Ah.

Me, internal dialogue: Are you pitching me on the concept of real-life stores? Like the ones all around us at this shopping mall? Because I am quite familiar with those.

Also, my brain has insisted that I add both of these videos:

Leave a Reply

